Aurélien Froment

11.06.2017 - 05.11.2017

Double Tales

From the toys of the educational pioneer Friedrich Fröbel, a 14th-century tapestry of the Apocalypse from Angers, a Bollywood school in Dakar, the ideal palace of the postman Ferdinand Cheval, and the utopian architecture of Paolo Soleri to the Sardinian musician Franco Melis. It seems as though Aurélien Froment navigates from one subject to the next. Nevertheless, they all have something in common. In this exhibition, Froment showcases their realizations and incorporates them in his art.

Fröbel Fröbels

Replicas of the blocks made by the German educational scientist Friedrich Fröbel form the heart of the presentation. You will see cubes, circles or cylinders in various forms spread around the space. A series of photos multiplies these forms in the space. Froment thus not only externalizes the philosophy of the pedagogical pioneer, he gives everyday objects like ‘toys’ a new status by placing them in a museum, and thus enables Fröbel’s thought to live on. Furthermore, he has selected works in the M Collection that refer to these basic shapes. 

The ideal funeral monument of Ferdinand Cheval

The French postman Ferdinand Cheval (1836-1924) collected stones throughout his life. These strange forms inspired him and led him to build his ‘ideal palace’. With his rich imagination, he thus constructs all kinds of characters, animals, exotic plants and decorations. Aurélien Froment brings the construction back to Cheval’s original intention: a mausoleum for him and his wife. In his photo series, Froment deconstructs this collection of images. He shrouds the photographed patterns in black dust and thus makes isolated fragments for an ideal inventory.

Apocalypse

For his latest video Apocalypse, Froment was inspired by the largest tapestry in the world: the Apocalyps of Angers. It represents the story of the Revelation to John. In his film, Froment presents the text of Revelation through the filter of Jean-Pierre Brisset’s (1837-1919) poetry. Just like Brisset went in search of the origins of the French language, Froment researches the grammar of primal sounds and applies them. His films thus blends texts and tableaux from the apocalypse, resulting in a flood of meanings and symbols.

Polyphonic register

Polyphony is a concept that recurs throughout several works by Aurélien Froment. For example, five wind instruments from the Music Instruments Museum evoke the body of a musician. He juxtaposes these with videos (Non Alignés, 2016 & Le Chant du Monde, 2017) about the cross-fertilization of dance and music between India and Senegal. You hear the Indian repertoire of singer Amadou Badiane and you see the Senegalese dance in the Bollywood tradition. 

In his most recent film Allegro largo triste (2017), Froment films Franco Melis (°1958, Tuili), a Sardinian musician and launeddas player. There are no written scores of this music, so musicians train with masters who teach them how to play the instrument and the repertoire itself. In this video, Froment documents how the music is transmitted from master to student without a written score.

Utopian architecture

In 1970, architect Paolo Soleri (1919-2013) started building a utopian construction in Arcosanti, Arizona (USA). He aimed to offer an alternative to the typically horizontal development of a city and allows architecture and ecology to coalesce. He based his building technique on the casting technique of an artisanal bell foundry. In the series Earthworks (2015), Aurélien Froment travelled to Arcosanti. At M, you will see the bells, the constructions and the models that were made through the process of casting.

 

Curator: Eva Wittocx

Aurélien Froment

Bio

Aurélien Froment

Bio

Aurélien Froment is a French artist. He completed his studies at the École des Beaux-Arts de Nantes in 2000 and qualified as a film projectionist in the same year. His works have appeared at the Venice Biennale (2013), the Sydney Biennale (2014) and the Dakar Biennale (2016). After spending eight years in Dublin, he recently moved to Edinburgh. His recent individual exhibitions include CAG in Vancouver, FRAC Île-de-France / Le Plateau in Paris, Les Abattoirs in Toulouse and the NCAD Gallery in Dublin. He took part in the Playground festival in Louvain in 2008 and 2009. His work has also been shown at the Villa Empain (2014) and the Gallery Meessen-Declerq (2016) in Brussels.


With the support of the Institut Français and the cultural service of the embassy of France in Belgium

Aurélien Froment

11.06.2017 - 05.11.2017

Contes Doubles

Du jouet conçu par le pionnier de l’enseignement Friedrich Fröbel au musicien sarde Franco Melis, en passant par la tapisserie de l’Apocalypse datant du 14e siècle et conservée à Angers, une école Bollywood de Dakar, le palais idéal du facteur Ferdinand Cheval ou encore l’architecture utopique de Paolo Soleri... c’est comme si Aurélien Froment naviguait éclectiquement d’un sujet à l’autre. Pourtant, ils ont tous un point commun. Dans cette exposition, Aurélien Froment s’est attelé à mettre en valeur ces personnages et leurs réalisations. Pour la première fois en Belgique, le musée M propose un large tour d’horizon de l’œuvre d’Aurélien Froment. Trois nouvelles vidéos viennent compléter des installations, sculptures et séries photographiques récentes. 

Froment et Fröbel

Les répliques des blocs de construction créée par le pédagogue allemand Friedrich Fröbel sont au cœur de la présentation. À plusieurs endroits de la pièce sont disposés des cubes, boules ou cylindres de différentes tailles. Une série de photos multiplie les formes dans l’espace. Ce faisant, au-delà de matérialiser la philosophie du pionnier de l’enseignement, en plaçant dans un musée un élément aussi usuel qu’un « jouet », Aurélien Froment lui confère un autre statut et s’inscrit dans le prolongement des idées de Fröbel. De plus, il a cherché dans la collection M des œuvres qui renvoient à ces formes de base. Elles sont présentées dans le même espace que cette installation.

Le palais idéal, tombeau de Ferdinand Cheval

Toute sa vie, le facteur Ferdinand Cheval (1836-1924) a ramassé des pierres. Leurs formes étranges et inspirantes l’ont amené à construire son « palais idéal ». Un foisonnement de personnages, animaux, plantes exotiques et ornements divers sont ainsi sortis de sa fantastique imagination. Aurélien Froment ramène le chef-d’œuvre de Cheval à son intention initiale, à savoir être le tombeau du facteur lui-même et de son épouse. Avec sa série de photos, il démantèle les statues qui composent cet édifice. Il emballe de tissu noir les motifs photographiés pour isoler les fragments de son inventaire idéal.

Apocalypse

Pour sa nouvelle vidéo Apocalypse, il s’est inspiré de la plus grande tapisserie du monde : l’Apocalypse d’Angers. Elle illustre l’histoire de la Révélation ou l’Apocalypse, et le pouvoir du verbe divin. Aurélien Froment a illustré la bande-son du film par le texte de l’Apocalypse, filtré par la poésie de Jean-Pierre Brisset (1837-1919). À l’instar de Brisset qui voulait remonter aux origines de la langue française, Aurélien Froment analyse et applique la grammaire de ces sons primordiaux. C’est ainsi que le texte et les scènes de l’Apocalypse se rejoignent dans son film.

Registre polyphonique

La polyphonie est un concept récurrent dans l’œuvre d’Aurélien Froment. Ici, cinq instruments à vent prêtés par le Musée des Instruments de Musique évoquent le corps d’un musicien. En regard, il place des vidéos (Non Alignés, 2016 & Le Chant du Monde,2017) traitant de l’hybridation entre l’Inde et le Sénégal qu’on retrouve dans la danse et la musique. On peut ainsi entendre le répertoire indien du chanteur Amadou Badiane, ou voir des Sénégalais danser comme à Bollywood.

Dans son dernier film Allegro largo triste (2017), Aurélien Froment a filmé le musicien sarde et joueur de launeddas Franco Melis (°1958, Tuili). Souvent, il n’y a pas de partition écrite pour ce genre de musique. Les musiciens vont donc faire leur apprentissage auprès d’un maître qui leur enseigne la technique et le répertoire. Cette vidéo d’Aurélien Froment est consacrée à la transmission du maître à l’élève de cette musique sans partition.

Architecture utopique

En 1970, l’architecte Paolo Soleri (1919-2013) se lance dans un chantier utopique à Arcosanti, en Arizona (USA). Il veut proposer une alternative au développement typiquement horizontal des villes, et concilier l’architecture et l’écologie : l’arcologie. C’est ainsi qu’il base sa technique de construction sur les procédés des artisans fondeurs de cloches. Pour sa série Earthworks (2015), Aurélien Froment est allé à Arcosanti. Au musée M sont exposées des cloches, constructions et maquettes réalisées suivant le procédé de coulée dans une matrice.

Aurélien Froment

Bio

Aurélien Froment

Bio

Aurélien Froment est un artiste français. Il a achevé ses études à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Nantes en 2000 et a obtenu cette même année un diplôme de chef opérateur. Il a présenté des œuvres à la Biennale de Venise (2013), à la Biennale de Sydney (2014) et à la Biennale de Dakar (2016). Après avoir vécu huit ans à Dublin, il a récemment déménagé à Édimbourg. Parmi les expositions individuelles récentes de Froment, on peut citer : CAG à Vancouver, FRAC Île-de-France / Le Plateau à Paris, Les Abattoirs à Toulouse et la NCAD Gallery à Dublin. Il a participé au festival Playground à Louvain en 2008 et 2009. Son œuvre a également été exposée à la Villa Empain (2014) et à la Galerie Meessen-Declerq (2016) à Bruxelles.


Avec le soutien de l'Institut français et du service culturel de l'ambassade de France en Belgique dans le cadre d’EXTRA