OPEN M

31.03.2017 - 14.05.2017

There's always more to see

The fourth edition of OPEN M is taking place in the unique industrial space of Cas-co. M is again highlighting visual artists who have a connection with Flemish-Brabant. Guest curator Flor Bex selected twelve artists from the portfolios submitted.

Recognisability and alienation

For the group exhibition There’s always more to see, Flor Bex selected intriguing images that both reveal and conceal, confront us with the banal or highlight special beauty.

 

Arnaud De Wolf, Bastiaan van Aarle, Ash Bowland, Dieter Daemen, Dieter Van Caneghem, Dirk Roseport, Katrin Kamrau, Marjolein Guldentops, Paul D’Haese, Pierre-Philippe Hofmann and Pieter Léon Vermeersch each present their perception of reality. The selected artists are exhibiting photographic work, video and spatial installations that challenge the viewer to look at their surroundings in new ways.

There were many exciting portfolios among the 185 submissions, of which the youngest contributor was 19 years old and the oldest 82. I was struck by how many artists use images of reality as they see it. Without any premeditation, but just by looking and documenting, they say a lot about our surroundings and their own. I used this as a leitmotif for the final selection because it presented itself to me while I was examining the portfolios. They are images that combine the recognisability of and alienation from our world. Flor Bex (°1937), GUEST CURATOR OF OPEN M

A solo exhibition of your favourite artist

During the exhibition, a professional jury and a public jury will select two OPEN M artists who will get their own solo exhibitions. You can vote for your favourite artist via the iPad during your visit or you can vote via our social media platforms Facebook or Instagram and help an artist to get their very first solo exhibition at the FeliXart Museum. You can vote until Monday 8 May. The audience favourite will be announced on Friday 12 May. The professional jury will select an artist who will get a solo exhibition at Cc Strombeek. This winner will be announced on Monday 10 April.

Bio | Guest curator

Flor Bex (1937) is the former director and founder of the M HKA (1985 – 2002) and of the International Cultural Centre (ICC) (1972 – 1983), the precursor to the M HKA. In 1983, he also founded the periodical ARTEFACTUM op (1983 – 1995). He has organized more than 600 contemporary arts exhibitions in Belgium and abroad, and published various books, monographs and numerous articles in journals and catalogues. In 2002, he published the impressive reference work ‘Art in Belgium after 1975’.

Practical information​​​​​​​

Practical information​​​​​​​

Opening hours
Thu 11:00-22:00
Fri - Sun: 11:00-18:00
 

Address
Vaartstraat 94,
3000 Leuven

OPEN M

M and the Province of Flemish-Brabant are organizing the fourth edition of OPEN M, a group exhibition for visual artists who have a connection with Flemish-Brabant. Every two years, OPEN M offers regional talent the opportunity to exhibit their work. Under the motto ‘Your Work, Our Audience’, M creates a platform in which artists can exhibit their work to the general public.

Previous editions

OPEN M gave me my very first opportunity to present my work to the general public. It really came into its own. I also discovered new artists and their work. It was a wonderful experience to exhibit at M. POLIEN BOONS (°1993), PARTICIPANT OF OPEN M 2015

AN INITIATIVE OF

SUPPORTED BY

OPEN M

31.03.2017 - 14.05.2017

Nouvelle édition

OPEN M en est à sa quatrième édition, qui se déroulera exceptionnellement dans les locaux industriels de Cas-co. M ouvre à nouveau ses portes aux artistes plasticiens qui ont un lien avec le Brabant flamand. Parmi les dossiers introduits, le commissaire invité Flor Bex a retenu les œuvres de douze artistes.

Identification et aliénation

Pour l’exposition collective There’s always more to see, Flor Bex a sélectionné des images intrigantes qui révèlent des choses et en dissimulent d'autres, nous confrontent à la banalité ou nous montrent simplement la beauté.

 

Arnaud De Wolf, Bastiaan van Aarle, Ash Bowland, Dieter Daemen, Dieter Van Caneghem, Dirk Roseport, Katrin Kamrau, Marjolein Guldentops, Paul D’Haese, Pierre-Philippe Hofmann et Pieter Léon Vermeersch présentent chacun leur perception de la réalité. Ces artistes, par le biais de photos, de vidéos et d'installations spatiales, nous invitent en tant que spectateurs à porter un regard différent sur notre milieu de vie.

Parmi les 185 envois, il y avait de nombreux dossiers très enthousiasmants. Le plus jeune participant a 19 ans, et le plus âgé, 82 ans. J’ai été frappé de voir que de nombreux artistes travaillent avec des images de la réalité telle qu’ils la perçoivent. Sans idée préconçue, simplement en observant et en enregistrant, ils nous en disent long sur leur milieu de vie, et sur le nôtre. C’est ce fil rouge qui s’est imposé à moi lors de l’étude des dossiers en vue de la sélection finale. Des images où l’identification et l’aliénation de notre monde vont de pair. FLOR BEX (°1937), COMMISSAIRE INVITÉ OPEN M

Exposition individuelle de votre artiste préféré

Pendant l’exposition, un jury professionnel et le public choisiront deux artistes d’OPEN M qui pourront exposer en solo. À l’occasion de votre visite, votez pour votre artiste préféré (via l’iPad) ou via nos réseaux sociaux Facebook ou Instagram afin de l'aider à se sélectionner pour sa première exposition individuelle au FeliXart Museum. Vous pouvez voter jusqu’au vendredi 5 mai. Le choix du public sera révélé le vendredi 12 mai. Le jury professionnel, quant à lui, choisira l’artiste qui exposera en solo au CC de Strombeek. Le nom du lauréat sera divulgué le lundi 10 avril.

Biographie | Commissaire invité

Flor Bex (1937) est l’ancien directeur et fondateur du M HKA (1985 – 2002) et de l’Internationaal Cultureel Centrum (ICC) (1972 – 1983), le précurseur du M HKA. En 1983, il fonde également le magazine ARTEFACTUM (1983 – 1995). Il a organisé plus de 600 expositions d’art contemporain en Belgique et à l’étranger, et est l’auteur de plusieurs livres et monographies ainsi que de nombreux articles parus dans des magazines et catalogues. En 2002, il publie l’impressionnant ouvrage de référence ‘L’art en Belgique depuis 1975’.

En pratique

En pratique

Horaires
Jeudi 11:00-22:00
Vendredi-dimanche: 11:00-18:00
 

Adresse
Vaartstraat 94,
3000 Leuven

OPEN M

M et la province du Brabant organisent pour la quatrième fois OPEN M, une exposition collective d’artistes plasticiens qui ont un lien avec le Brabant flamand. Tous les deux ans, OPEN M permet à des talents de la région d’exposer leurs nouvelles œuvres. Sous le slogan ’Ton œuvre, notre public’, M crée une plate-forme où les artistes viennent présenter leur travail au grand public.

Éditions précédentes

Grâce à OPEN M, j’ai eu la chance de pouvoir présenter pour la première fois mon travail à un large public. Il y a été totalement mis en valeur. J’ai également pu découvrir de nouveaux artistes ainsi que leurs œuvres. Exposer au M a été pour moi une expérience exceptionnelle. POLIEN BOONS (°1993), PARTICIPANTE À OPEN M 2015

UNE INITIATIVE DE

AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE